It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of our long-standing colleague Prof. Dr. Sylvia Moosmüller. As head of the Acoustic Phonetics Group, she played a significant role in the success of the Institute’s research and building its international reputation.

Sylvia Moosmüller studied General, Applied, English and Romance Linguistics at the University of Vienna. She received her doctorate in applied linguistics in 1984 for the dissertation “Soziale und psychosoziale Sprachvariation: eine quantitative und qualitative Untersuchung zum gegenwärtigen Wiener Deutsch”. Subsequently, she worked on a variety of projects about Viennese German, most often with Univ. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Dressler. At the same time she also conducted research in the area of feminist linguistics and gender studies. She started work at the Acoustics Research Institute (at that time the “Kommission für Schallforschung”) in 1992 as part of a project about forensic phonetics with Prof. Dr. Werner Deutsch, the then head of the Institute. She completed her habilitation "Vowels in Standard Austrian German. An Acoustic-Phonetic and Phonological Analysis" in 2008 and was awarded the venia legendi for applied linguistics, phonetics and phonology. Alongside her teaching at the University of Vienna and the University of Graz, she taught logopaedics, phoniatrics and audiology at a technical college.

Dr. Moosmüller built up the Acoustic Phonetics group at the Institute over many years, conducting many successful and respected national and international projects. She was the Deputy Director of the Institute from 2008 to 2015.

Her research focussed on phonetic and phonological variation in Austrian German, as well as the acoustic-phonetic description of vowels in as-yet insufficiently documented languages. She also researched in the area of forensic phonetics, sociophonetics and clinical phonetics. As General Secretary of the IAFPA (International Association for Forensic Phonetics and Acoustics) and a member of the ENFSI Expert Working Group Forensic Speech and Audio Analysis (FSAAWG), she was internationally respected in these fields.

She died on 17th April 2018 after a severe illness. The Acoustics Research Institute and its employees mourn her passing. She was an outstanding scientist and treasured colleague. Our thoughts are with her family with whom we express our greatest sympathy.

Mit großer Betroffenheit geben wir Nachricht vom Tod unserer langjährigen Kollegin Doz. Dr. Sylvia Moosmüller. Als Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe für Akustische Phonetik war sie maßgeblich an der erfolgreichen Forschung unseres Instituts und dem Aufbau seiner internationalen Reputation beteiligt.

Sylvia Moosmüller studierte Anglistik, Romanistik sowie Allgemeine und Angewandte Sprachwissenschaften an der Universität Wien. 1984 erlangte sie mit der Dissertation "Soziale und psychosoziale Sprachvariation: eine quantitative und qualitative Untersuchung zum gegenwärtigen Wiener Deutsch" ihr Doktorat in Angewandter Sprachwissenschaft. Anschließend arbeitete sie in verschiedenen Projekten zum Wiener Deutsch vor allem in Zusammenarbeit mit Univ. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Dressler. Zeitgleich forschte sie auch immer wieder im Bereich der feministischen Linguistik und gender studies. Ihre Arbeit am Institut für Schallforschung (damals noch Kommission für Schallforschung) nahm sie im Jahr 1992 unter dem damaligen Leiter Doz. Dr. Werner Deutsch im Rahmen eines Projektes zum Thema forensische Phonetik auf. Mit der Approbation ihrer Habilitation "Vowels in Standard Austrian German. An Acoustic-Phonetic and Phonological Analysis" erlangte sie 2008 die Venia legendi für Angewandte Sprachwissenschaft zuzüglich Phonetik und Phonologie. Neben ihrer Lehre an den Universitäten Wien und Graz unterrichtete sie auch an der Fachhochschule „Logopädie-Phoniatrie und Audiologie“.

Über die Jahre hinweg baute sie am Institut die Arbeitsgruppe für Akustische Phonetik auf, die unter ihrer Leitung zahlreiche national und international erfolgreiche und beachtete Projekte durchführte. In den Jahren 2008 bis 2015 übte sie zusätzlich noch die Funktion der stellvertretenden Direktorin des Instituts für Schallforschung aus.

Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte lagen in den Bereichen der phonetischen und phonologischen Variation des Österreichischen Deutsch sowie in der akustisch-phonetischen Beschreibung der Vokale ausgewählter, bislang unzureichend beschriebener Sprachen. Daneben betrieb sie Forschung im Bereich der forensischen Phonetik, der Soziophonetik und klinischen Phonetik. Als Generalsekretärin der IAFPA (International Association for Forensic Phonetics and Acoustics) sowie als Mitglied der AG für forensische Sprach- und Audioanalyse des ENFSI war sie auch international in diesem Forschungsbereich sehr anerkannt.

Am 17. April 2018 verstarb sie nach schwerer Krankheit viel zu früh. Das Institut für Schallforschung, seine Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, trauern um eine hervorragende Wissenschaftlerin, die in ihrer feinen und zurückhaltenden Art eine sehr geschätzte und wertvolle Kollegin war. Unsere Gedanken sind bei ihrer Familie, der wir von Herzen unser Mitgefühl ausdrücken.