LocaPhoto Kick-Off Workshop 30-31 August, 2012


LocaPhoto 2012: From Geometric Reconstruction to 3-D Virtual Acoustics

Kick-Off Workshop, 30-31 August, 2012

Location: Acoustics Research Institute (Institut für Schallforschung),
Wohllebengasse 12-14, 1040 Wien, Austria
(How to find us)

OrganizatorPiotr Majdak

Acoustics Research Insitute Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften

The LocaPhoto project is concerned with the localization of sound sources in the human auditory system. We attempt to create a functional localization model with the goal to predict localization performance for sound sources positioned in 3-D free field. The model will include recent neuro-physiological findings. It is intended to be released as a tool for further research on modeling the mechanisms behind spatial hearing. Further, we aim to develop a non-contact method to measure filters responsible for accurate sound localization in 3-D space. The method will numerically calculate acoustic parameters of a 3-D mesh, which we attempt to retrieve from listener's 2-D photos by using photogrammetric-reconstruction algorithms. The results will be evaluated by means of the localization model and validated in localization experiments.

LocaPhoto is a multidisciplinary 3-years project funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF). Combining numerical acoustics, psychoacoustics, and computer vision, LocaPhoto involves co-operations with researchers from various universities as well as a co-operation with the Zentrum für Virtual Reality and Visualisierung (VRVis , Vienna).

The aim of this workshop is to provide the possibility to exchange the research ideas between the various research groups. Researchers working in the fields related to LocaPhoto are encouraged to present their current work and discuss their new ideas, goals, and methods.


(preliminary, in alphabetic order)

  • Robert Baumgartner (ARI)
  • Stefan Getzmann (TU Dortmund)
  • Stine Harder (TU of Denmark)
  • Craig Jin (University of Sydney)
  • Wolfgang Kreuzer (ARI)
  • Bernhard Laback (ARI)
  • Piotr Majdak (ARI)
  • Parham Mokhtari (NICT, Kyoto)
  • Rasmus Paulsen (TU of Denmark)
  • Andreas Reichinger (VRVis)
  • Robert Sablatnik (TU Vienna)
  • Peter Soendergaard (TU of Denmark)
  • John van Opstal (Radboud University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
  • Haral Ziegelwanger (ARI)
  • Reza Zolfaghari (University of Sydney)

Everybody is invited heartily - Participation is FREE (please register, though). 

Registration and administrative supportKonrad AntonicekKonstantin Ulitsch

Supported by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF, P 24124-N13).