This picture compares the result of a classical BEM with the MLFMM.

The numerical simulation of sound fields enhances the understanding of sound and noise propagation and supports for example the development of robust and efficient noise reduction methods. This is one of the reasons why we work on the development and application of computational methods to describe physical interactions between sounds and objects. Our research
includes models of the dynamics of structures, sound fields, and vibrations with applications in environmental noise control, automotive audio, auditory perception, and speech production. Our research includes

  • the development and application of efficient boundary element methods (BEM) for the Helmholtz equation to simulate the sound propagation of in 2D, 2.5D and 3D,
  • the development of efficient methods for modeling systems with hysteretic behavior,
  • modeling and (psychoacoustically) evaluating sound mitigation methods,
  • the development of models and methods to simulate the human vocal tract.

Computers grow more powerful every year, however, the needs and the requirements of real life applications (e.g. the need for more detailed models, simulation of bigger objects with complex geometry, real-time applications, ...) grow even faster. Thus it is necessary to constantly develop new and robust methods and to introduce new ideas and concepts into the field of numerical and applied mathematics. By working in close cooperations with all other groups of the institute, the group is able to combine new mathematical concepts and developments (e.g. advances in Frame and wavelet theory) with their immediate application for real life problems (e.g. calculation of head related transfer functions for 3D virtual audio, evaluation of noise reduction measurements, ...).

Lighthouse Project: Detection and Simulation of Noise and its Propagation for Developing Efficient Countermeasures

Noise, i.e. unwanted sound, is a phenomenon that effects our every day lives, and apart from being annoying can result in health problems. Motivated by this reason the topic of noise and noise reduction is one of the lighthouse research topic at the ARI. Together with partners from science and industry the researchers at the ARI investigated and investigate the origin and propagation of noise as well as methods for noise mitigation in multiple projects (PAAB, Wiabahn, PASS, LARS, RELSKG, SysBahnLärm, ...).

In connection with the international noise awareness day the ARI offers the interested public the opportunity to visit the institute and to experience the topics ``Acoustics' and "Noise"' with several interactive presentations and experiments.

Further links in connection with noise:

Other selected projects

Staff

This picture compares the result of a classical BEM with the MLFMM.

Die numerische Simulation von Schallfeldern fördert das bessere Verständnis von Schall- bzw. Lärmausbreitung und ermöglicht dadurch zum Beispiel eine effizientere Planung von Maßnahmen zur Lärmreduktion. Aus diesem Grund beschäftigen wir uns mit der Entwicklung und Anwendung von computergestützten Modellen und Methoden zur Beschreibung der physikalischen Wechselwirkung zwischen Schall und Objekten.
Unsere Forschung befasst sich unter anderem mit Modellen zur Dynamik von Strukturen, Schallfeldern und Vibrationen mit Anwendungsgebieten in Lärmbekämpfung, Audio im Auto, Schallwahrnehmung und Sprachproduktion. Zu unseren Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen

  • die Entwicklung und Anwendung von effizienten Randelementemethoden (BEM) zur Simulation von Schallausbreitung in 2D, 2.5D und 3D,
  • die Entwicklung von effizienten Methoden zur Modellierung von Systemen mit hysteretischem Verhalten,
  • die Modellierung und psychoakustische Evaluierung von Methoden zur Bekämpfung von Lärm,
  • die Entwicklung von Modellen und Methoden zur Simulation des menschlichen Vokaltrakts.

Zwar werden jedes Jahr Computer schneller, die Anforderungen aus der Praxis an die Computermodelle (z.B. detailgetreuere Modelle, Simulation von größeren Objekten mit komplexer Geometrie, Anwendungen in Echtzeit, ...) werden jedoch ebenfalls ständig größer. Daher ist es notwendig, stetig neue robuste und effiziente Methoden zu entwickeln, und neue Ideen und Konzepte ins das Forschungsgebiet numerische und angewandte Mathematik einzuführen. Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit externen Partnern und mit allen anderen Arbeitsgruppen am ISF ist es möglich, neue mathematische Konzepte und Entwicklungen (z.B. Frames und Wavelets) mit ihrer unmittelbaren Umsetzung zur Lösung konkreter Probleme (z.B. die Berechnung von HRTFs für virtuelles 3D Audio, Beurteilung von Lärmreduktionsmaßnahmen,...) zu verknüpfen.

Lighthouse Projekt: Detektion und Simulation von Lärm und seiner Ausbreitung zur Entwicklung von effizienten Gegenmaßnahmen

Lärm, d.h. unerwünschter Schall, ist ein Phänomen, das unser tägliches Leben beeinflusst, und das nicht nur lästig, sondern auch gesundheitsgefährdend sein kann. Aus diesem Grund ist das Thema Lärm und Lärmvermeidung ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt am ISF. In zahlreichen Projekten ((PAAB, Wiabahn, PASS, LARS, RELSKG, SysBahnLärm, ...) untersuchten und untersuchen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am ISF gemeinsam mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie (Asfinag, ÖBB, AIT, TUWien, ...) die Entstehung und Ausbreitung von Lärm sowie Methoden zur Vermeidung desselben. Unsere Forschung beschäftigt sich mit

  • Der Entstehung von Lärm,
  • Der Fortpflanzung von Lärm,
  • Der Perzeption von Lärm.

Speziell zu diesem Thema bietet das ISF der interessierten Öffentlichkeit die Gelegenheit, am Internationalen Tag gegen Lärm das Institut zu besuchen und anhand zahlreicher Stationen unsere Arbeit kennenzulernen.

Weiterführende Links zum Thema Lärm

Andere ausgewählte Projekte

Mitarbeiter/innen