The Acoustics Research Institute (ARI) is an interdisciplinary research institution of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, dedicated to application-open fundamental research in acoustics, based on a solid mathematical background, in cooperation with internationally acclaimed scientific partners. Many scientific questions in acoustics involve different steps from the production, over the propagation up to the perception of sound. To be able to formulate precise acoustical and perceptual models using algorithms, the involvement of mathematics, numerics and signal processing is essential. A multidisciplinary approach is therefore necessary for frontier research in acoustics. This allows innovative research approaches based on the synergy effects of multidisciplinary research as well as stimulating new concepts for the individual research field. Many projects dealt with at ARI rely on a deep expertise in the individual research fields as well as on a multidisciplinary cooperation. The methods resulting from our fundamental research are implemented in various software systems, among them STx, which has a long history of establishing cooperation with other organizations.

The Acoustics Research Institute integrates phonetics, psychoacoustics, computational physics and mathematics. It is open to other disciplines and work groups as long as they fit within the multidisciplinary environment. This approach makes ARI unique in Austria, and even worldwide there are only a few research organizations that conduct comparable, multidisciplinary research. As there are only a few faculties at Austrian universities providing academic education related to acoustics, the institute additionally fills this gap by the personal engagement of ARI’s scientists.

In the future, the Acoustics Research Institute will expand its approach “Excellence by Synergy” even more. This will be achieved by further intensifying the collaboration between the research groups and actively searching for new research groups fitting within its scope. Additionally, the cooperation with external organizations will be strengthened even more. The primary intention of the future work of ARI is to further strengthen its position within the international top-level scientific community in acoustics. In the long run, the Acoustics Research Institute shall be established as the international centre for multidisciplinary research in acoustics.

History of the Institute

1972 Kommission für Schallforschung
Director: Walter Graf
1982 Director: Othmar Wessely
1994 Forschungsstelle Schallforschung
Director: Werner A. Deutsch
2000 Acoustics Research Institute
Director: Werner A. Deutsch
2012 Director: Peter Balazs

Das Institut für Schallforschung (ISF) ist eine interdisziplinäre Forschungseinrichtung der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Es betreibt anwendungsoffene Grundlagenforschung im Bereich der Akustik basierend auf einer soliden mathematischen Grundlage, in Kooperation mit international anerkannten wissenschaftlichen Partnern. Viele wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen im Bereich der Akustik behandeln verschiedenste Stufen von der Entstehung über die Ausbreitung bis zur Wahrnehmung von Schall. Zur Formulierung präziser akustischer und perzeptiver Modelle mit Algorithmen ist die Einbindung von Mathematik, Numerik und Signalverarbeitung essentiell. Aus diesem Grund verlangt Pionierforschung auf dem Gebiet der Akustik einen multidisziplinären Ansatz. Dieser ermöglicht innovative Forschungsansätze basierend auf den Synergieeffekten multidisziplinärer Forschung und regt zugleich die Herausformung neuer Konzepte innerhalb der einzelnen Fachgebiete an. Viele der am ISF bearbeiteten Projekte schöpfen sowohl aus einer tiefen Expertise im individuellen Fachgebiet als auch aus einer multidisziplinären Kooperation. Die aus unserer Grundlagenforschung resultierenden Methoden werden in diverse Softwaresysteme implementiert, darunter STx, das auf eine lange Tradition der Kooperationen mit anderen Institutionen verweisen kann.

Das Institut für Schallforschung vereint Phonetik, Psychoakustik, computergestützte Physik, und Mathematik. Es ist offen für andere Forschungsdisziplinen und Arbeitsgruppen, sofern diese seine multidisziplinäre Grundlage unterstützen. Der fachübergreifende Ansatz macht das Institut einzigartig in Österreich, und auch weltweit existieren nur wenige vergleichbare Forschungsinstitutionen. Der persönliche Einsatz der WissenschaftlerInnen des ISF in der universitären Lehre füllt die Lücke der fehlenden akademischen Ausbildung im Bereich der Akustik.

Das Institut für Schallforschung wird zukünftig seinen Ansatz „Exzellenz durch Synergie“ noch weiter ausbauen. Dies soll erreicht werden durch eine noch gesteigerte Zusammenarbeit seiner Forschungsgruppen sowie durch eine aktive Suche nach neuen Forschungsgruppen. Die Kooperation mit externen Institutionen wird ausgebaut und intensiviert werden. Im Mittelpunkt der zukünftigen Entwicklung des ISF steht der Ausbau seiner Position innerhalb der internationalen Spitzenforschung in der Akustik. Als langfristiges Ziel soll das Institut als das internationale Zentrum für multidisziplinäre Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Akustik etabliert werden.

Geschichte des Instituts

1972 Kommission für Schallforschung
Direktor: Walter Graf
1982 Direktor: Othmar Wessely
1994 Forschungsstelle Schallforschung
Direktor: Werner A. Deutsch
2000 Institut für Schallforschung
Direktor: Werner A. Deutsch
2012 Direktor: Peter Balazs